Colorado takes DUI offenses extremely seriously, and as a result, DUI punishments in this state follow the same strict regiments, ranging from hefty jail time, losing your driving privileges, fines that can drain your accounts, and the use of an ignition interlock device. Understanding this DUI guide will greatly help your process. 

The limits

With the legalization of recreational marijuana in Colorado, residents must understand the legal ramifications of impaired driving. In Colorado, you are charged when there are 5 nanograms or more of THC per mL of blood, with alcohol, you are charged if the BAC(Blood Alcohol Content) is 0.08% or higher. If the BAC is higher than 0.15% the results become much harsher and can result in classification as a persistent drunk driver.

First Time DUI

First-time DUI offenders(a first DUI is a misdemeanor) in Colorado may face a revocation of their license for up to 9 months. They may restore their license after the first month ONLY by using an ignition interlock device for 8 to 24 months. A first offense may also result in 12 points on your record and 2 to 180 days of imprisonment which can be reduced if they participate in a substance abuse treatment program

Subsequent Penalties

Keep in mind that a first-time DUI offense in Colorado is considered a misdemeanor, but if someone commits a subsequent DUI offense it can lead to felony charges, which bring more severe penalties and hardships. To address concerns about lenient sentences for felony DUI convictions, the state has made it mandatory to impose jail time for fourth offenses, usually resulting in a prison term of two to six years. 


Navigating DUI cases can be difficult and the court is an unforgiving place. Getting in touch with an experienced DUI attorney will greatly help you through the hardships of being convicted. Contact the law offices of Shipp-law, with the right expertise your best outcome will be achieved. Call the office at (970)927-9225 and have your needs met.